Is a diesel Ponton a good first project?

1953-1961: 180, 180a, 180b, 180c, 180D, 180Db, 190, 190b, 190D, 190Db, 220a, 220S, 220S cabrio., 220S coupe 220SE, 220SE coupe, 220SE cabrio.
W114 Coupe
C Class
Model you own: w114

Post by W114 Coupe » Sat 20 Jul, 2013 3:33 pm

Hi All,
I am looking for some general info about diesel Pontons. I have come across a 190D Ponton that has been parked up for a few years and is now unregistered. The car looks to be complete but the body is full of "character"! There are dents and scratches all over it and some surface rush, but I can't see anything to serious and I kinda like that you can see its history. That being said I probably need to get under it and have a good poke about.

So, what I am really after is some inside info as to how hard these cars are to work on. I am a total novice, but want to learn about the mechanics and maintenance of a car. I currently have a W114 coupe which I had intended to potter about with, but it is now not suitable as I use the car a lot and do not want to risk break it. I thought as this Ponton was already unregistered it would cost nothing to sit there and be a long term project but don't want to have to spend a fortune getting it back to a drivable state.

Does anyone know what sort of $$ a beat up unregistered Ponton is worth?

Cheers.

ansteadeh
C 111
Region: Queensland

Post by ansteadeh » Sat 20 Jul, 2013 5:33 pm

Can't give you any advice on the price, but pictures might help lots. In terms of repair costs - remember you are not restoring an EH here. Compare for instance a water pump or a head gasket between the 2 cars and see if you are prepared to swallow the difference on any parts comparison. If so, then you know you might make it the end without abandoning

John Green
OZBENZ Admin
Model you own: w112
Region: Australian Capital Territory

Re: Is a diesel Ponton a good first project?

Post by John Green » Sat 20 Jul, 2013 7:08 pm