Headlamp upgrade

1971-1989: 280SL, 280SLC, 300SL, 350SL, 350SLC, 380SL, 380SLC, 420SL, 450SL, 450SLC, 450SLC 5.0, 500SL, 500SLC, 560SL
MotorMan
Model you own: w107
Region: Victoria

Headlamp upgrade

Post by MotorMan »

Hi, please excuse me if this topic has been discussed previously. I searched the forum, but didn't find any posts which were directly relevant. I would like to upgrade my R107 headlights by fitting either LED or HID bulbs to the existing headlights. Is there any information out there regarding which bulbs (1) Fit, and (2) work well? I presume that cut-off patterns will need to be adhered to, and the lights must not dazzle on-coming traffic. I'm happy to be referred to other forum posts and websites which discuss this topic. I'm new to this, so any information regarding upgrading "old" headlamps with brighter, whiter, new technology would be welcome. thanks in advance
mathuisella
Große
Model you own: w123

Re: Headlamp upgrade

Post by mathuisella »

Personally i think it's best if you keep the originals. LED lights mess with the body and it's ability to sleep, yet alone the piercing lights from EVERY BLOODY HID car out there. It makes you want to keep a .22 in there to shoot the lights out on every car that passes.
Giles
300 SL Gullwing
Model you own: I own multiple different models
Region: Western Australia

Post by Giles »

How much do you drive at night & where, city or country?

G
1988 V126 560SEL Poida The King wears white
1981 C107 500SLC Lola. The Queen wears black
1989 V126 420SEL Shaun The Jack wears black
2007 X164 500GL James The Joker wears black

http://www.kudoscc.com.au
https://www.facebook.com/kudoscc?mibextid=LQQJ4d
mathuisella
Große
Model you own: w123

Post by mathuisella »

Australia, a capital city and also drive interstate from time to time.
CraigB
Mercedes Demigod
Model you own: I own multiple different models

Post by CraigB »