Information for a newbie on Mercs....

1953-1961: 180, 180a, 180b, 180c, 180D, 180Db, 190, 190b, 190D, 190Db, 220a, 220S, 220S cabrio., 220S coupe 220SE, 220SE coupe, 220SE cabrio.
wilsonjermy
Dernburg Wagon
Model you own: w121

Information for a newbie on Mercs....

Post by wilsonjermy » Tue 21 Apr, 2015 6:42 am

Hello All,

I like some feedback on the following. I am a pure vehicle driver. I am not a mechanic and I have very limited knowledge about car mechanics. I am able to change oil, and do very very light things. I always wanted a Mercedes Benz 190 that were made in the 1950s. I love those cars. I am interested in buying one, but before I go in that road and regret buying it, I like anyone to provide some feedback and recommendation whether is it worth to buy or not.
For example, information on:
is it expensive to maintain a car like MB 121 model (made in 1956 - 1960, MB 190).
is it hard to find parts for this type of car - not recurring parts? is the part considered expensive or reasonable or cheap?
is it hard to find recurring maintenance parts for this car? like oil filters or spark plugs etc...
is it hard to find a mechanic that is able to fix this type of car? will he be specialized or a general mechanic?
can this car be used as the main car? to drive daily and for long return trips on holidays? for example from NSW - QLD or VIC?
is it hard to learn how to do the maintenance for this car? as it is not complicated like the new cars?
from my questions, i"m sure it gave an idea my level of information about the mechanics for these type of cars.
Please feel free to provide any recommendation or comments to help me decide whether to buy a car like this or not.

thank you all ,
regards,

efirestorer
C Class
Model you own: w180

Re: Information for a newbie on Mercs....

Post by efirestorer » Tue 21 Apr, 2015 12:22 pm